Mule Madness!

The following was penned by Downies employee Jimmy…

If you read my previous blog post – on the incuse Millennium 50c I found in my change – you would be aware that I have only worked at Downies for a short period of time. Before this, I had only a slight interest in coins, but not much more than occasionally noticing an interesting one in my change, and setting it aside.

$1 Mule Obverse

I never really bothered looking up information, such as mintage figures, or design details. However, as I mentioned in my last blog, I started flipping through the pages of my Maccas guide just after I started working here, and discovered that there was a lot more to our everyday money than a few random coins with different designs.

One of the more appealing circulating coins I mentioned in my previous blog is the 2000 $1/10c Mule. What exactly is this coin, I hear you ask? Well, for those that don’t know, a ‘mule’ is a coin struck with obverse and reverse dies that were not meant to be paired together. In this case, the coin was created using the reverse die of a 2000 $1 coin and the obverse die of a 2000 10c piece. This results in a double ring on the obverse side, as seen in the picture below.

2000 One Dollar/Ten Cent Mule Error Extremely FineNow, unfortunately, I didn’t find this coin in my change. This is one of two examples we have in stock here at Downies. The chances of finding one in change are remote indeed. Maccas listed the mintage at 400 until 2010, when it was changed to “unknown”. Many people have attempted to estimate the mintage, with figures ranging from 400 to 6,000 thrown about, but it seems unlikely that we will ever be sure about the actual number struck. There is no doubt, however, that this coin is extremely rare!

In my opinion, one of the more appealing things about this coin is the fact that it is a circulating coin. This means that, somewhere around Australia, right now, there’s someone with a 2000 $1/10c Mule in their pocket, unaware of its value. These rare coins will continue to circulate, and it therefore remains a possibility that you or I will discover one in our change one day. It is this tantalising prospect that keeps me checking my change every day!

Are any of our readers on the lookout for this particular coin? Or better yet, has anyone been lucky enough to find one in their change?

14 thoughts on “Mule Madness!

  1. Pingback: Treasures in your change: 5c and 10c – What to look for | Downies Blog

  2. Pingback: The Australian $1 Celebrates its 30th Anniversary! | Downies Blog

    • Congrats John.
      I wonder where they are being found. There are three People who have found one , in the last 5 months.
      Cherie

  3. Well there still out there. April must be a lucky month. Am feeling a little stoked discovering one in my change tin. A little of center, still pretty happy though.

    • Congrats Steve.
      Keep looking. I wonder just how many are left. After 15 years of circulating. They will be well worn.
      Cherie

  4. Hi I found one in my change a month or so ago. I put it in with my other $1 Mob of Roos year 2000.
    I thought I would sort through them.
    Still unsure. I asked my Son. He could see it immediately.
    And yes. I now own a $1 year 2000 Mule. I haven’t noodled in my Life.
    So I shared it on a few Coin Groups.
    What are the odds?
    Maybe I’ll buy a Lotto Ticket.
    I wonder what it’s worth. As I am unable to post a photo?

      • Hello,
        I would love to send you a photo.
        I have never noodled . I collect the year 2000 $1 coins.
        Just in case. Then I thought I would go through my coins.
        Still unsure. I asked my Son. Posted the coin on several Coin Groups on Face Book.
        Every one said yes. I am in the process of checking the rest of my coins.

        Kind Regards

        Cherie

        PS I did post the coin on your Face Book site.

Leave a Reply

